The Spiritual Gifts of Unrequited Love

I came across this article by Michele Knight in my Twitter feed, and as soon as I saw the title, a feeling went off inside me: oh yah, I know alllll about the spiritual gifts of unrequited love. When you are in the midst of an unrequited love infection, you can’t eat, you can’t sleep, the world revolves around the Beloved and what they are or aren’t doing, what they said or didn’t say, how close or far you perceive them to be to you, and your mood lurches around as jarringly as an old wood roller coaster.

There are three typical routes this situation can take. The first one is: oblivion. You and your unrequited love never manifest into a real relationship. You keep holding on, despite every evidence to the contrary, as your heart and soul leak vitality and wholeness with every passing moment. The Beloved holds such power over you, but instead of seeing this situation as your choice and a learning experience you must pass through, you externalize the lesson and make it about him or her. This seldom creates growth. Instead, it sets up a tendency towards self-mutilation, as you examine your personality and being with a fine-tooth comb, seeing only what can be changed, excised, or gained to make yourself desirable to the Beloved. “If only I…” and the thought invariably ends “…then s/he would love me.”

The second route is transmutation: all that stored up energy is released. The Beloved and you come to some sort of agreement. Either you agree to move on or give it a shot or whatever you come up with, but there is a transmutation that both participate in. You both have grown. The lover has learned patience, has followed his intuition, has gone deep into the well of love, has stayed on course with an open mind and heart. The Beloved learns from, and is softened, by the loyalty and constancy of the lover. The Beloved opens and the lover’s ability to trust is healed, and something alchemical happens in the process. I’m not sure if these relationships stay together. Maybe all that resistance was building up to a huge transmutation of energy, and both partners needed one another to release it. The relationship stays together only so long as both need to gather what’s necessary for the next stage of development, but there is always a fond memory ands special acknowledgement of the growth you brought to each other’s lives.

The third way is the way of time and reality. Time, compassion, and open-heartedness are needed to move through this phase or style of connection. In this dynamic, the Beloved never acknowledges your love, and the lover is never quite able to let go of the feelings. Perhaps it is a karmic connection and there is soul material from the past that needs to be worked through. Perhaps this is a Twin Flame vibration and one partner does not recognize the other as a Twin. Whatever the case, the feelings can persist for years and decades, but this is the scenario that holds immense fodder for spiritual and emotional growth.

To recognize it is possible to love someone without needing them to love you back is a huge spiritual lesson. Not an easy lesson, and one that requires constant practice, but to be able to love and not be loved back in the way you desire puts you, as Pema Chodoron says, in the state of soft heart. Soft heart, when our heart is broken and bruised, when tears are just below the surface almost all of the time, when the physical ache of our heart corresponds exactly to the emotional pain we feel at not being able to merge with the Beloved, is a place of great tenderness and openness. Pema says having your heart broken is a gift. She says it awakens boddhichitta.

A book on this subject which affected me deeply is Open To Desire by Mark Epstein. In this book, Epstein uses the Buddha’s lesson of relinquishing attachment as the device to help people see the difference between attachment and desire. Desire often stimulates attachment, and can definitely encourage attachment: humans are creatures of habit and sensually oriented and love things that make them feel better. Such feelings, when externalized onto an object, are temporary. Even within, they can be temporary if not tended to through meditation, introspection, and constant mental training to distinguish the difference between craving and attachment.

Check out Michele Knight’s article, which beautifully expresses the transformative gifts of unrequited love. Remember, everything is a mirror, a reflection. What you see out there is somewhere within you, and it’s especially valuable to check out the stuff reflected back that we don’t like so much.

8 Comments

Filed under tantra

8 responses to “The Spiritual Gifts of Unrequited Love

  1. Al

    As you said, this is a love that nourishes, not one that pushes you into the premises of sorrowfulness or pity-fullness. Over sadness, love is born.

    • Steven Kuchinsky

      I’m missing something. I love everything you are saying, but Michelle Knight’s article? Forget it. It casts the whole thing as a negative enchantment that shouldn’t be happening and offers no way to “break out of the spell.” You Lola/Dakini, on the other hand, offer delightful alternatives, ways to work with it, to embrace where you are as a blessing. No I see nothing redeeming in Michelle Knight’s take. It’s just what everyone else says. Break it off. Snap out of it! I see it as an opportunity to work with myself and to truly learn how to love another without needing. I am learning to open up to the love, which can only be one by also accepting the pain that goes along with it, knowing that it is really an ancient pain. In that I feel more grounded, more compassion.

      • Steven, thank you so much for the wonderful words! It means a lot to me, as I feel it is my karma & my dharma to help myself and others heal due to the pain of the past. Our sensitivity is really a gift, and as you noted, to try to “break out of that” really goes against the depth of feeling these types of situations bring up. Thank you very much for reading/commenting. Mark Epstein’s book “Open to Desire: The Truth About What the Buddha Taught” informed a lot of these thoughts. Best of luck to you on your journey.

  2. Pingback: Stages of a Twin Flame relationship | Dakini's Bliss Yoga

  3. Peter

    Hello,

    I came about your blog after researching about twin flames. I have been involved with more than seven twin flame connections (at least that’s what i can recall) in the span of seven years. Most of which was triggered with eye-to-eye contact. Up to this day, the “love at first sight” experience still leaves me puzzled. Though right now I have more control over my emotions during these encounters -benefits of experience I guess. To some extent I am very much aware of how I affect the other person during this connection.

    Anyway, one twin flame connection really stuck to me and lasted more than three years. Which shadowed all other experiences I had. Sadly I believe I took route number one… oblivion. As mostly described by the runner dynamic, the moment I noticed reciprocation of feelings towards my TF, I quickly blocked her away from my thoughts and did my best to avoid her physically. Though far from successful. I could not understand why I did such a thing for someone I loved dearly… Skip to the present, I’m in the route of great change. I can feel it in and out of my body.

    Also I am not consciously psychic, but I can see a “road map” if you will, or a prediction of what’s going to happen to me. Two years from now is the peak of this great change that I am feeling. Three years will be left as a task to help others. Somehow thought, I could not see myself past the early months of 2017. It just draws blank. I believe it’s about the day I die. I’m not afraid at all. I just need some other opinion. I know this part maybe off topic, but you seem to be more unlighted of other spiritual aspects.

    Sorry for the very long post…
    I think I’ll buy the book “Open To Desire by Mark Epstein”
    Stay in love and light!

  4. Hi Peter and thanks for leaving a comment! I feel Twin Flame dynamics have so much to teach us, even if we never manage to connect in a more physical or earthly way. The fading of a flame may be victory over some karma or other imprint you needed to clear thru the trial of the love flame. Happy to hear you are experience change that you can feel 🙂

    About not being able to see into the future beyond 2017: perhaps you’re not able to see that far yet because something needs to happen between then & now to reveal that vision to you. I have a 3-5 year plan but I couldn’t even guess at what might be after that! I trust the Universe will reveal to me which steps I’m to take.

  5. Pingback: Stages of a Twin Flame relationship | shona

  6. rlboston

    This went far beyond the original and I so appreciate it at this time in my life. Thank you.

Leave a comment