Does the 200-hour yoga teacher training produce well-qualified teachers?

Signs you are in a TT: colored pens & pencils; binders & notebooks; foam yoga blocks used as desks :)

Signs you are in a TT: colored pens & pencils; binders & notebooks; foam yoga blocks used as desks 🙂

As yoga grows in popularity, more scrutiny is being cast upon teacher training programs. Is the 200-hour teacher training enough to really prepare someone for teaching yoga? I look into this question in a blog post I wrote for Pravassa.com. This is a multi-layered question with no right answer since many of us decide to do a yoga teacher training only after we’ve had decades of practice, while some of us jump in after only a few months. These, and other factors, weigh in on the final answer of “does a 200-hour teacher training adequately prepare people to teach yoga?”

In my opinion, a personal practice is where a teacher finds his/her wisdom, but a yoga teacher training, or “YTT” in the parlance, obviously fills in certain key gaps (like anatomy, a structured approach to the Sutras, etc.) that practitioners may not have dove into in their own practice.

Read more here…and please comment if you have something to add to the conversation.

3 Comments

Filed under mindfullness, yoga

3 responses to “Does the 200-hour yoga teacher training produce well-qualified teachers?

  1. Having your own practice and a 200 hour teacher training certainly is a starting point. Each time I teach or take another’s class, I learn. Each time I interact with other yogis, I learn. I continue to take workshops and CECs. I read lots of books and explore YouTube. Now I’ve decided to pursue the therapeutic path.

  2. It seems the issue here is more about trust than anything else. Can you trust someone that “only” has had a 200 teacher training course under their belt? That comes down to a completely individual assessment. A small example: I am currently undergoing the 200 hour training, yet I only began yoga 8 or 9 months ago. Even though I haven’t practiced for long, I realized quickly that through yoga I can learn to love myself and then help others to do so as well. In this truth and pure intention, I’m absorbing the information at a fast rate because I love it so much. With experience, I know I’ll get better and better, but as I have been beginning to teach here and there, I have only received positive reviews. If a person has the correct intention and passion for yoga, despite their experience, their teaching practice should translate effectively and students will trust a teacher like this. In that way, “good” teachers will prevail. It would be obvious to the student that the practice isn’t that great if the teacher does not have love and pure intentions, and that student would probably seek another teacher. I’d rather be optimistic than cynical about the fact that more people want to practice and teach yoga. It is an uplifting prospect 🙂

  3. Asan Yoga School is a place to learn and master yoga skills, for which we have Rasesha Desai (500 Hours Registered Yoga teacher), Asan yoga school is a leading yoga classes in Ahmedabad and we seek to develop yoga skills in people with correct alignment and postures. We also provide 200 Hours Yoga teacher training course in Ahmedabad India.
    http://raseshayoga.com/
    Our faculty are registered with yoga Alliance USA & UK.
    Our teachers are well polished and trained under a vibrant personality Yog Namito himself,who was a direct and lifelong disciple of B.K.S. Iyenger guruji. Yog Namito as a Orthopaedic surgeon has practiced in Norway for yrs. With his experience and wisdom in anatomy , physiology and teaching methodology our faculty meets Yoga Alliance’s faculty qualifications and are formally designed as training facility.
    Asan Yoga School, offers multi styles 200 hours teacher training course in Ahmedabad India , which includes Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga, Hatha Yoga, Iyengar style and Restorative or Yin Yoga, with the certification of yoga alliance USA and UK which is acceptable worldwide.

Leave a comment